应用说明文章

麦奇克根据其超过35年的粒度表征经验,目前开发了范围广泛的应用说明库。

请点击应用说明的标题链接下载PDF 档案,查看整个说明。

麦奇克动态光散射应用说明

在DLS 公式中如何使用黏度 — 布朗运动是一种流体分子与颗粒发生碰撞并导致颗粒运动的效应。根据下面的斯多克-爱因斯坦公式,粒子被视为点目标,没有质量或密度。粒子的运动导致了其在悬浮液中的扩散,因此小型粒子的扩散率更快一些……

使用动态光散射对高浓度脂质体和胶质悬浮液进行粒度分析— 测量粒度对研究层叠薄片的生长、脂质体的凝聚、膜的破坏和微生物污染至关重要。本说明解释了麦奇克的增强动态光散射技术如何能使用户能够准确地测量更高浓度溶液中的粒子,减少因稀释以至过份稀释导致的数据误读。

使用DLS技术测量高浓度亚微米颗粒分布— 动态光散射是一项用于测量从数纳米至数微米粒度范围的成熟技术。然而,在对高浓度样品的测量中,DLS技术遭遇严重局限。本文讨论了高浓度导致局限的原因、克服局限的方法,以及高浓度测量的结果……

测量低浓度小尺寸微粒系统 — 本说明描述了对粒度不足6.5微米的粒子的可检测性……

纳米粒子测量:频谱模式中的动态光散射分析— 动态光散射分析是对粒度范围从纳米至微米的普通粒子的测量基础。如果小于纳米范围,测量难度就逐渐变大,因为粒子的光散射系数下降很快,减少了散射光强度……

使用动态光散射测量打印机墨水的纳米粒度 — 麦奇克动态光散射分析可以测量各种颜色的墨水,包括黑色、紫红、黄色或蓝色。多亏了麦奇克的增强动态光散射技术,在高浓度溶液中也能进行精确而灵敏的粒度测量。正因为有了专利的设计元素,高浓度测量和清楚解决多模式的性能才得以实现。

UPA对比PCS测量— 使用多模式样品,测量模式分辨率的性能标准、模式尺寸精度以及模式浓度的准确性。UPA和光子关联光谱学 (PCS)使用了……进行比较……

使用Nanotrac鉴定啤酒中的气泡 啤酒是世界上最古老的酒精饮料,在与水和茶的竞争中占据一席之地,成为世界上最受欢迎的饮料之一。啤酒的酿造需要淀粉发酵,主要来源是大麦,而其他的谷物如小麦和大米也有可能用于酿造啤酒。一般来说,加入啤酒花是为了缓解苦涩的口感,并延长保质期。根据不同的区域、其文化和法律规定,酒精含量从不到1%到20%为止。

麦奇克激光衍射应用说明

激光衍射测量水泥粒度— 水泥的制造取决于许多因素,包括原材料的化学组成、烧成温度、以及粒度。本说明对粒度测量特别感兴趣,因为粒度会影响到粉碎研磨过程的效率和水泥成品的质量……

将发电副产品用于制造墙板、水泥和塑料— 本说明简述了一些电厂遵守洁净空气法案,再生利用燃煤发电的副产品的积极举措……

统一的分散技术进行各种各样的粒度测量— 本说明简述了为了提供完整的粒度分布而使用的不同的分析技术的历史……

粒度测量的一个概念化的非数学的折射率指数解释— 本文对折射率对粒度分布的影响提供了详细的分析……

粉末涂料和粒度测量— 粉末的粒度可能会影响到它的很多性能,包括涂料的搬运、加料、传送和涂层特点。取决于对涂层厚度、目标形状以及周围环境的应用要求,涂料的配制可能差别很大。

颜料粒度测量— 本说明描述了使用麦奇克专利三激光分析仪对各种颜料进行更常见的测量……

使用蓝色激光测量粒度的优点— 三激光系统已经升级到包括蓝色激光在内,提供分辨率更高、灵敏度更强的亚微米和纳米级别的测量。利用对数检波器为三激光系统提供平移不变性的设计概念维持不变,再进一步结合使用蓝色和近红外线激光……

高准确率的粒度测量极大地推进了高分子材料的可加工性— 本说明详细阐述了利用粒度测量理解制造高分子材料的复杂程序的优点……

使用激光衍射测量干粉粒度进行典型性采样和分散处理的重要性 – 本说明阐述了使用激光衍射测干粉粒度的时候,进行典型性采用和分散处理的重要性。

使用激光粒度分析检测巧克力制造过程 – 本应用说明阐述了如何使用激光粒度分析在巧克力的生产中测出细微颗粒。

麦奇克图像分析应用说明

3D 动态图像分析 对比 2D图像的好处 — 对于非球形颗粒,可以使用动态图像分析测量长度、宽度和厚度,与2D图像只能基于长度和宽度来假设厚度相比,精准度极高。本说明阐述了测量所有的三个维度的重要性。

3D图像分析的优势— 动态图像分析(DIA)是一项迅速流行的颗粒表征技术,因为它可以测量种多的参数,比只有一个粒子参数的传统测量方式优越多……

在线粒子图像分析控制化肥生产过程 – 本说明阐述了化肥生产商如何通过采用3D粒子图像分析增加收入、提升生产效率的。

使用3D粒子粒形测量玻璃珠的透明度 – 本份白皮书阐述了动态图像分析如何精确地测量玻璃珠的大小、形状和透明度,生产出来的玻璃珠用于反光路标。此外,本文还阐述了PartAn软件如何创建过滤程序,让使用者快读确认“好玻璃珠”和“不合格玻璃珠”。

使用3D动态图像分析来测量支撑剂  – 本说明阐述了对于测量支撑剂,使用3D 动态图像分析相对于筛析和显微镜测量所享有的独一无二的优势。支撑剂是水力压裂中的重要材料。

Dustmon操作步骤 – 由麦奇克实验室人员开发,本说明详细地列出了每一步步骤,如何使用一起以及Dustmon用户如何可以从粉末的尘埃含量中获得有价值的信息。

使用3D动态图像分析测量骨料的几何参数–  以下的应用说明阐释了用户如何快速准确地测量粗细骨料的粒度、棱角、表面粗糙度、以及长宽比等(仅举几例)。

麦奇克各种各样的应用说明

解释粒子计数率值— 以下是一系列报告上出现的术语、缩写和计算……

了解显微镜观察的影响,对比质量/体积分布— 本文阐述了一个实验,将麦奇克数据和竞争者的光散射数据进行评估,再和光学显微镜的数据对比,以及由此延伸出来的问题……

了解粒度仪中用到的激光二极管
— 本说明解答了客户经常提到的一个问题。当客户和粒度工作人员考虑买哪一种粒度仪时,常常会提出这个问题……

重新计算麦奇克数据对比仿真筛选数据(以及其他方法的数据)— 有很多方法可以提供粒度分布,其中包括动态光散射,也就是著名的麦奇克频谱分析方法。其他方法包括……


All content © 2018 Microtrac All Rights Reserved

Application Notes

Having over 35 years of particle characterization experience, Microtrac has developed an extensive library of Application Notes.

Please click on the title link of an application note to download a PDF file and view the complete note of interest.

Microtrac Dynamic Light Scattering Application Notes

How to use viscosity in the DLS formula — Brownian motion is an effect that develops as a result of fluid molecules colliding with particles and causing their movement.  According to the Stoke-Einstein formula shown below, the particles are treated as point objects have no mass or density.  The movement of particles gives rise to diffusion through the suspension where the rate of diffusion is more rapid for small particles…

Particle size analysis of high concentration liposomes and micelle suspensions using Dynamic Light Scattering— Measuring particle size is vital to studying the growth of multi-lamellar structures, liposome agglomeration, membrane disruption, and microbiological contamination.  This application note explains how Microtrac’s enhanced Dynamic Light Scattering technology enables users to accurately measure these particles at higher concentrations, which reduces misinterpreted data from over dilution.

High concentration sub micron particle size distribution by DLS— Dynamic Light Scattering is a well-established technique for measuring particle size over the size range of a few nanometers to a few microns; however, at high sample concentrations severe limitations are placed on the DLS measurement.  This paper discusses the causes of the high concentration limitations, the means of overcoming the limitations, and the results of measurements at high concentrations…

Measurement of low concentration small sized particulate systems — This note describes the limits of detectability of particles in general below 6.5 microns…

Nanoparticle Sizing: Dynamic Light Scattering analysis in the Frequency Spectrum Mode— Dynamic Light Scattering analysis is the basis of a common particle sizing measurement covering the range of nanometers to microns.  At the nanometer end of the range, measurements becomes progressively more difficult as the particle optical scattering coefficients drop sharply, reducing the scattered light intensity…

Nanoparticle size measurements of printer ink using Dynamic Light Scattering — Microtrac Dynamic Light Scattering analyzers can measure inks of all colors including black, magenta, yellow, and blue.  Precise and sensitive particle size measurements can be conducted using high concentrations thanks to Microtrac’s enhanced Dynamic Light Scattering technology.  High concentration measurements and the ability to clearly resolve multi modes are possible because of the amplified optical signal generated by proprietary design elements.

UPA verses PCS multi-modal measurement— The comparison of instruments with the use of multimode samples determines performance criteria of mode resolution, mode size accuracy, and mode concentration accuracy.  The performance of the UPA and Photon Correlation Spectroscopy (PCS) was compared using…

Using Nanotrac to identify gushing in beer Beer is world’s oldest alcoholic beverage and rivals water and tea as the most popular drink. The brewing requires the fermentation of starch of which the primary source is barley while other sources such as wheat and rice may be used. Usually hops are added to modify bitterness flavor and retard spoilage. Alcohol by volume ranges from less than 1% to as much as 20% depending upon regional, cultural and legal desires…

Microtrac Laser Diffraction Application Notes

Particle size measurement of cement by Laser Diffraction— The manufacture of cement depends upon many factors, including chemical composition of raw materials, firing temperatures, and particle size.  Of particular interest in this note is particle size measurement, since it can affect the efficiency of process grinding and quality of the final product…

Use of power generation by-products in wallboard, cement, and plastics— This paper provides a short outline of some of the advances and positive actions taken by the electric power companies to comply with the Clean Air Act by using by-products of coal burning for electric power…

Unified scatter technique for full range particle size measurement— This paper provides a short summary of the history of different analytical techniques used to provide a complete particle size distribution and their benefits…

A conceptual, non-mathematical explanation on the use of refractive index on the particle size measurement— This paper provides a detailed analysis of the effect of the refractive index on the particle size distribution…

Powder Coatings and Particle Size Measurement— Powder particle size can have a major influence on many properties, including handling, charging, delivery, and coating characteristics.  The formulations may vary depending on application requirements of thickness, object shape, and ambient conditions…

Pigment Particle Size Measurement— This note describes the more general measurement of all pigment types using the Microtrac patented tri-laser diffraction analyzer…

Benefits of using Blue Lasers for Particle Size Measurement— The Tri-laser system has been upgraded to include blue lasers to provide advances in resolution and sensitivity in the submicron and nanosize ranges.  The concept of utilizing logarithmic detector design to provide shift-invariance described for tri-laser systems is maintained and extended to the combined use of blue and near-infrared lasers…

Accurate Particle Sizing Significantly Improves Processibility of Polymers— This note explains in detail the benefits of using particle size measurements to understand the complex process involved to make polymers…

The importance of representative sampling and dispersion for dry powder particle size measurements using laser diffraction – This application note explains the importance of representative sampling and dispersion for accurate particle size measurements of dry powders when using laser diffraction technology.

Using laser diffraction particle size analysis to monitor fines during the chocolate production process – This application note explains how laser diffraction particle size analysis can be used to measure fine particles during the production process of chocolate.

Microtrac Image Analysis Application Notes

The benefits of 3D image analysis— Dynamic Image Analysis (DIA) is a particle characterization technique rapidly growing in popularity, because it measures so much more, and so much better than older conventional methods measure and report only one particle parameter…

On-Line Particle Image Analysis to Control the Fertilizer Manufacturing Process – This application note explains how fertilizer manufacturers can increase their revenue and improve production efficiency by implementing 3D Particle Image Analysis.

Using-3D-particle-size-and-shape-to-measure-transparency-of-glass-beads – This white paper explains how Dynamic Image Analysis can accurately measure the size, shape, and transparency of glass beads used primarily for reflective road markings.  Additionally, this paper will also explain how the PartAn software can create filters, which allow a user to quickly identify “good beads” compared to “bad beads.”

Using 3D Dynamic Image Analysis to Measure Proppants – This application note explains the unique advantages of using 3D Dynamic Image Analysis compared to sieve analysis and microscopy to measure proppants, a key material used in the fracking process.

Dustmon Operation Procedure – Developed by the Microtrac pal, this helpful guide details, step by step, how to use the instrument and also explains how users of the Dustmon can obtain valuable information about the dust content of powders.

Using 3D Dynamic Image Analysis to Measure Geometric Parameters of Aggregates–  The following app note explains how users can quickly and accurately measure size, angularity, surface roughness, and elongation (to name of few) of fine and coarse aggregates.

Microtrac Miscellaneous Application Notes

Explanation of particle counter data— The following is a list of terminology, abbreviations, and calculations shown on reports…

Understanding the impact of microscopic observations compared to mass/volume distribution relationships— This paper describes an experiment in which Microtrac data and competitive light scattering data were evaluated and compared to optical microscopy and the issues that arise…

Understanding Laser Diodes Used in Particle Size Instruments
— This note addresses questions that often arise when types of lasers are considered by customers and lay particle size personnel…

Recalculation of Microtrac Data to Emulate Sieve Data (and other methods)— There are multiple methods that can be used to provide particle size distributions.  These include dynamic light scattering, which includes the well-known Microtrac method of frequency spectrum analysis.  Other methods include…


All content © Microtrac All Rights Reserved